Home Up Contents Feedback Search Bible Search Donate

Declaration of Independence

Home Up

Signed July 4, 1776

Religious Affiliation of the 56 Signers of the
Declaration of Independence




Church Affiliation


1. Charles Carroll Maryland Catholic See note 1 below.
2. Samuel Huntington Connecticut Congregationalist  
3. Roger Sherman Connecticut Congregationalist Also signed the Constitution
4. William Williams Connecticut Congregationalist  
5. Oliver Wolcott Connecticut Congregationalist  
6. Lyman Hall Georgia Congregationalist  
7. Samuel Adams Massachusetts Congregationalist  
8. John Hancock Massachusetts Congregationalist  
9. Josiah Bartlett New Hampshire Congregationalist  
10. William Whipple New Hampshire Congregationalist  
11. William Ellery Rhode Island Congregationalist  
12. John Adams Massachusetts Congregationalist Unitarian  
13. Robert Treat Paine Massachusetts Congregationalist Unitarian  
14. George Walton Georgia Episcopalian  
15. John Penn North Carolina Episcopalian  
16. George Ross Pennsylvania Episcopalian  
17. Thomas Heyward, Jr. South Carolina Episcopalian  
18. Thomas Lynch, Jr. South Carolina Episcopalian  
19. Arthur Middleton South Carolina Episcopalian  
20. Edward Rutledge South Carolina Episcopalian  
21. Francis Lightfoot Lee Virginia Episcopalian  
22. Richard Henry Lee Virginia Episcopalian  
23. George Read Delaware Episcopalian Also signed the Constitution
24. Caesar Rodney Delaware Episcopalian  
25. Samuel Chase Maryland Episcopalian Chase was an advocate of public support for religion
26. William Paca Maryland Episcopalian  
27. Thomas Stone Maryland Episcopalian  
28. Eldridge Gerry Massachusetts Episcopalian  
29. Francis Hopkinson New Jersey Episcopalian  
30. Francis Lewis New York Episcopalian  
31. Lewis Morris New York Episcopalian  
32. William Hooper North Carolina Episcopalian  
33. Robert Morris Pennsylvania Episcopalian Also signed the Constitution
34. John Morton Pennsylvania Episcopalian  
35. Stephen Hopkins Rhode Island Episcopalian  
36. Carter Braxton Virginia Episcopalian  
37. Benjamin Harrison Virginia Episcopalian  
38. Thomas Nelson, Jr. Virginia Episcopalian  
39. George Wythe Virginia Episcopalian  
40. Thomas Jefferson Virginia Episcopalian-Deist  
41. Benjamin Franklin Pennsylvania Episcopalian-Deist Also signed the Constitution
42. Button Gwinnett Georgia Episcopalian-Congregationalist  
43. James Wilson Pennsylvania Episcopalian-Presbyterian Also signed the Constitution, Justice on Supreme Court
44. Joseph Hewes North Carolina Quaker-Episcopalian  
45. George Clymer Pennsylvania Quaker-Episcopalian Also signed the Constitution
46. Thomas McKean Delaware Presbyterian  
47. Matthew Thornton New Hampshire Presbyterian  
48. Abraham Clark New Jersey Presbyterian  
49. John Hart New Jersey Presbyterian  
50. Richard Stockton New Jersey Presbyterian  
51. John Witherspoon New Jersey Presbyterian Presbyterian Minister and President Princeton
52. William Floyd New York Presbyterian  
53. Philip Livingston New York Presbyterian  
54. James Smith Pennsylvania Presbyterian  
55. George Taylor Pennsylvania Presbyterian  
56. Benjamin Rush Pennsylvania Presbyterian  

Note 1:  Charles Carroll was the only Roman Catholic to sign the Declaration of Independence. On November 4, 1800, Carroll penned a letter to James McHenry, the signer of the Constitution for whom Fort McHenry was named. Charles Carroll wrote: “Without morals a republic cannot subsist any length of time; they therefore who are decrying the Christian religion, whose morality is so sublime and pure,… are undermining the solid foundation of morals, the best security for the duration of free governments.” 

American History Resources

Support this ministry 


Send mail to GButner@gmail.com with questions or comments about this web site.
Errant Skeptics Research Institute
Copyright © 1999 - 2012
Last modif ed: January 01, 2014